Not just another Latino; The Story of a drifting Soul.

Omar Delgado
3 min readApr 22, 2018

--

My name is Omar Delgado, I´m a 26 year old entrepreneur or as I prefer; hustler. I am currently living in Cancun, Mexico ( I know what you´re thinking, trust me it´s not all sunshine and rainbows)

7 years ago, I left everything behind in the U.S. (family, friends, my dog and my dear home country) to search for something better. I was 19 years old and too naive to realize that it was right in front of me all along.

The reason behind this decision involves various factors including that fact that I was young and stupid. But it´s one that I´ve learned to cope with in these last 7 years living away from my country, loved ones, and my dog.

Living in poverty and not speaking the language and not knowing anyone are just some of the struggles I came to face once I reached this foreign country. Knowing there was no turning back just fueled my depression and hate, I can still recall those long nights just staring into the stars and playing the same old record in my head; what if, what if, what if.

Does this qualify me as a DREAMER because I left? Some may say that I simply gave up the battle and took the loss like a coward. What I know is that I, just like some of my brothers and sisters still fighting this ongoing battle, still feel the pain they feel. I still struggle just like they struggle. But these past 7 years have taught me that I didn´t give up, I simply changed my strategy.

With the power of the internet I am not just another lost soul drifting in an unknown country but a soul that´s connecting both cultures directly from the source.

This transition has opened my eyes to many opportunities for my people and myself. So you may ask, what now?

My goal now is to embrace the opportunity that I´ve been blessed with, and build a framework that will help me connect and help as many Latinos as I can both in the U.S. and in various Latin countries. To fight this ongoing battle not from the sidelines but rather from a different angle.

In the beginning of January 2018, I created “pancho.co”, on a mission to get people self motivated and inspired by our culture and hustle.

All of this starts with a t-shirt brand, made of minimalistic and powerful designs.

I designed the logo and the messages in order to align with what I wanted for myself and how I feel about our culture and community.

But this clothing line is just the emerged part of something bigger I am building step by step.

pancho.co is not about me, it’s about each Latino, it’s about you.

It’s about how we can connect as human beings to share values and help each other grow.

Please, follow the blog to see what’s happening and how it might be valuable for you!

This was my story.

Now, tell me: what’s yours?

I love you guys,
Thanks for stopping by,

Omar,
pancho.co

--

--

Omar Delgado

A true believer that everything tastes better with Avocado. Latino advocate, blogger, dad in training, side hustler, inspired by hustle, hard work and kindness.