Adebimpe Omilola
3 min readJul 2, 2017

48 hours in Calabar

Today marks exactly one week since my trip to Calabar. Calabar is the capital of Cross River, a state in Nigeria.

I must confess it wasn’t a planned for event. I can remember hitting up my friend anu olanrewaju about how she intend maximizing her long break (Salah break) and also ranting about how I don’t just want it to be just another boring break from work. She mentioned we go to a neighboring state since it was our first time in the part of the country (south-south, Nigeria). My thought at first ‘ah,road trip just like that, in a foreign land’… big deal mehn!

I had initially thought of visiting a friend but then I had no clue.I later reached out to a friend of mine in Calabar and she was more than willing to have us. Just Like that 😲 very impromptu something.

The road trip to Calabar was nothing short of adventurous. Starting from the time we got to the park, our drama scenes with the bus driver, How anu olanrewaju made everyone know we were first time travellers on the route by taking pictures of everything takable 😂, getting to Calabar all socked in the rain and finally meeting Diusor after series of steady calls and messages just to make sure we were fine.

One word to describe Diusor (just so you know Diusor is actually the short form of her real name) — PHENOMINAL.

Have never met somebody like her. The kind of energy and drive she has is second to non. Not forgetting the fact that, that was our (Diusor and myself) third physical contact.

She writes 👉🏽 diusorodiakosa.com

She made our stay in the The Nation’s paradise (Slogan for Cross River State) stress free and filled with so much fun. She practically was our tour guide for the holiday and was very good at it.

Calabar is a very beautiful city. with the little time I spent there ( I hope to go back there sometime), we had the opportunity to visit the Slave history museum, The cinema, The ever bubbling Marian Road, we went sight seeing and I had a great time with the holiday squad not forgetting every other person that came in at one point or the other.

I look forward to more travels and I hope to share my experiences with you.

Thank you for getting to this point.

See you when next I write.😘

Bimpe.

Adebimpe Omilola

I'm learning to put my thoughts on paper. •Talent Management•