Goodbye October

omwow
2 min readNov 1, 2022

--

You’ve taught me a lot. September was quite an unsettling month. The sea is still stormy, and quite frankly, the waters are still rough. But this ship is still on course. Yes, sometimes I hunker down in my cabin, open up a book, and escape into another realm, because I just want to catch a break from reality. Allthewhile, I know that if I don’t steer this ship carefully, I’ll run out of victuals before reaching my destination.

And so, I must be diligent. I must pay attention to the map. I must adjust the sails according to the wind. I must check the course often, and make sure that we are still on track. Because the one thing I don’t want is to end up off course, and lost at sea, especially since I’m not alone on this ship. It carries the greatest of treasures.

But while the waters are still rough, you’ve given me more steadfastness within. Given me some good sense. Appreciated and rewarded my efforts generously. And for that, I appreciate you, October. This journey took an unexpected turn, but I now trust that it’s for the better, that this too will one day reveal itself to be a blessing in disguise. I can feel it the way one sometimes feels the rain coming long before dark clouds assemble up above.

In the early days of our journey, you’ve given me many sleepless nights, overflowing with thoughts and worries. But you’ve grown fonder of me over time it seems, and the last week granted me many peaceful nights. Plenty of beautiful moments that I now keep as precious memories. You’ve been good to me. Thank you, October.

--

--