Telegram did not send a verification SMS code. SOLVED

Ondrej Hlouzek
4 min readDec 9, 2021

I was unable to log in to the telegram application. I didn’t receive a verification SMS code.

Photo by Dima Solomin on Unsplash

What happened?

In a nutshell. I was unable to log in to the telegram application. I didn’t receive a verification SMS code. Telegram support is not responding and I am frustrated.

As every day, I log on to telegram and communicate with my users. But one day everything changed. For some reason, I unsubscribe from the telegram. The surprise was that I had to enter a verification code to log in, but I didn’t get it.

Small code, big problem

I waited 5 minutes, 10 minutes, but the code still didn’t come. So I tried to log in again. When I read the notice carefully, I found that the code was sent to me, but to another device where I was logged on. But I was not logged on to another device!!

I got into a situation where I was not able to log on to any device that I had a telegram installed on. After several attempts, the telegram even blocked my account for 20 hours !!!! Incredibly. There was nothing left but to wait and try again after 20 hours. Unsuccessfully again and blocked again.

An even bigger problem arose when I tried to solve everything with the help of Telegram. They have written in the help that they deal with tens of thousands of messages from users every day and that they do not have time to solve all queries. And so it really happened. I waited a week for an answer, and still no one answered. I really tried everything. I wanted to scream.

I found a solution

After three sleepless days, I finally found a solution. And I believe that it will work for you as well. 😎😎😎

Observations

I have found that the device is the only one that is installed on. That is, a telegram on a mobile phone or computer installed using a windows store or using a classic installer.

If you use the telegram website, you will never receive the SMS code. So, do not perform the procedure on the website. Otherwise you will not be able to log in.

Solution

To be able to log in to our account (in order to receive a verification SMS), we need a new phone number.

  1. If you do not have a new telephone number registered in the telegram, register it. If you are already registered, go to point 2.

Enter your new phone number and click NEXT. You will receive an SMS with a verification code.

2. Log in to your new account.

3. Now comes the magic. In the new account, click the arrow next to Username. The menu will open, where you can click on Add account.

4. This time, enter the original phone number of the accounts you are trying to sign in to.

5. And what happened? This time you will receive a verification SMS to the original telephone number. However, this is a number that is used to merge accounts. Enter this number. Complete the migration

6.👍👍👍 Great!!! We already have data from the original account in the new account. For many of you, it is already enough. But we’ll make it better.

7. Now try (via the mobile or app app, not the website) signing in to your original account again. Voala. Verification SMS has arrived! And you can log in to your account.

8. I hope I helped you and you were able to log in to your account.

If you like this article and it helps you, you can buy me coffee. I love coffee👍

--

--