Lucy Onovwa
2 min readOct 5, 2021

MAGGOTS!

Hey!
Yes, you there!
Oh please, just listen,
don't ask me why I'm whispering,
I am a worker in the house of my masters,
I speak silence to the actions of those who were once my brothers,
words so loud in their silence,
they affect hearing and all that matters
you see, I say these things silently,
because if I call them maggots, they will say I have abused them!

They take our sweat to other places,
and the masters there use it wisely,
better than the owners even,
yet,
If I call them maggots, they will say I have abused them.

Their children grow fat on our efforts,
they school on our industrial strikes and death tolls,
they come back to add a comma,
to where we hoped their father's death would put a full stop.
Still,
If I call them maggots, they will say I have abused them.

I am tired of being silent,
so that a maggot can speak in parliament,
I tired of being harassed,
so a maggot can live in luxury,
I am tired of being polite
and refraining from stating the obvious.

So, you!
Yes, you.
I want you to know that they are maggots,
and this is not an insult, not at all,
just truth,
and truth is bitter after all

Lucy Onovwa

I enjoy Writing, it helps me communicate well. I love prose, poetry and just read generally.