3D Design: 1-month Progress Update

Onyekachi
2 min readNov 3, 2021

--

I started!

Exactly a month ago today, I typed “blender tutorial” in the Youtube search bar and attempted to follow Blender Guru as he showed me how to make a donut in 3D. It took me all of 30 minutes to give up and I figured that probably wasn’t the best way to go.

I’m not sure what the specific trigger was, but between seeing the promo videos for The Ramp, the cutest illustrations on my timeline, and a bunch of other things I don’t even remember at this point, I decided I was going to learn 3D fr fr.

So far, I’ve:

  • Watched a bunch of tutorials that I don’t actually follow
  • Dusted off my 3D for designers course that I bought in 2018 💀
  • Ditched the course (and Cinema 4D entirely) and started to follow Blender Guru’s donut tutorial again. I’m currently on my 3rd try and I’ve made it as far as Part 5, Level 1.
  • Curated a lot of tutorials for the actual things I want to make once I can find my way around on my own
  • Created Pinterest boards of illustration styles I like and want to try out

Why did I stop following the 3D for designers course?

I got bored. Most of the stuff that inspired me to start 3D was done in a wildly different style than the course was teaching and I started to get impatient. A lot of the designers I like use Blender and it’s entirely free (unlike Cinema 4D which is used in the course), so it just made sense.

Doing the first few lessons of the course definitely wasn’t a waste though. It helped me wrap my head around thinking in 3D and moving around in space, and made it easier for me to transition back to Blender.

I only actively practice on weekends and nights when I’m not too tired from work, so I’ve only done like 8 practice sessions in total. Here are some pictures of some of my attempts so far ✨

--

--