Comparing the new Cascadia Code font to Fira Code v2

Mathias Raacke
2 min readSep 19, 2019

As part of the new windows terminal, Microsoft has released a new monospaced font with ligatures support that is optimized for console usage and code: Cascadia Code.

So far, I’ve been using Fira Code as my primary coding font, and I wanted to see how this new font compares to Fira Code.

Cascadia Code supports ligatures, just like Fira Code. Ligatures is a nice feature that can combine multiple adjacent characters into a new, unique symbol. For example, “=>” will be converted to a nice arrow symbol, “!=” will be displayed as “=” with a strike-through line.

I created a small sample code file that makes use of many ligatures.

Here is a comparison of Fira Code (left) and Cascadia Code (right):

Fira Code (left) vs Cascadia Code (right)

Cascadia Code is a nice new font, but I’ll probably stick with Fira Code, as I like it a little bit better (maybe because I’m used to working with it).

By the way, just a few days ago, Fira Code released a new major update, Fira Code v2.

Here is a comparison of Fira Cod v1 and v2:

Fira Code v1 (left) vs Fira Code v2 (right)

--

--