Publicly Accountable: My New Year Resolutions for 2017 🤞🏾

Oo Nwoye
2 min readJan 1, 2017

--

Like play, like play, 2017 has come and I definitely did not keep to my resolutions 2016. So this year, I want to do it differently.

I’ll publicly itemize things I hope to achieve and the means by which I hope to achieve them. Furthermore I will document them publicly and be penalized for failing to do the ones in my control.

I will not be too ambitious so I have no excuse for not fulfilling them. The aim is to try and learn new habits that will improve my physical, mental, spiritual, professional and social health.

Improve my Physical Health

  • Jogging a minimum of 10 km a week. This will be tracked using the app Runtastic.

Improve my Mental Health

  • Articulate myself more by writing and publishing a minimum of three blog posts a week. Any topics would suffice.
  • Broaden my mind reading a minimum of two published books a month. Tracking this would be by doing a simple review of the books.
  • Expose myself more by visiting new places. A minimum of 3 new countries (Holland? China? Ethiopia? Iran??) It will include a minimum of one African country. I also endeavour to visit two new American Cities (Seattle? New Orleans? Atlanta?)
  • Complete a minimum of three Coursera courses

Improve my Business Health

  • Get Callbase to >500 paying users (seats)
  • Have a presence in more than one African Country
  • Invest cash in a startup

Improve my Social Health

  • Act in a stage play (not waka pass o).
  • Become a card carrying member of a Political Party/Movement (NEVER PDP, most likely, Not APC).
  • Work on Improving my Igbo by transcribing, translating and being able to recite 2 new Igbo Phyno songs. I hope to get a book though
  • Drastically reduce my social media use. No metric decided but it will be very noticeable.

The first three in bold italics (reading, writing and jogging) are very important to me as a person hence I want to penalize myself if I do not live up to my promises to myself. So for every instance of my failure, I’ll pay a fine of 5000 naira to the first person that points it out. My fine for the year would cap at N100k (at which point, I have failed myself and that will be punishment enough)

So for the jogging and writing, every week, my self generating report (blog posts and my Runtastic profile) will be due by midnights on Saturday. As for the reading one, it will be due by midnight on the last day of the month.

This will act as as a public guide for me.

Of course, this is all dependent on my primary goal of every year which is to stay alive and healthy.

So help me God.🤞🏾

--

--