Opatola Victor Esq.
1 min readFeb 1, 2020

--

Why do lawyers use old and worn out wigs?

Recently a friend of mine asked me why lawyers use old and worn out wigs any time they appear in court.

In answering him, I said:

1. Not all lawyers use old and worn out wigs.

2. Old wigs signify age and experience in the legal profession. Old wigs are old wigs for a reason, and don't want to be addressed as new wigs.

3. Respect from new wigs.

4. As a fact I know of Senior Lawyers whose wigs are both shimmering, nice and dont look old or worn out.

5. Sometimes, it is a choice. The choice of the person wearing it, to wear such.

--

--

Opatola Victor Esq.

I am a legal practitioner and Alternative Dispute Resolution Secretary. Legal matters can be somewhat complicated, I am here to help you make sense if it all.