Ready to Fly

Morning always comes. It has no other choice.

Aniyia L. Williams
Black & Brown Founders
6 min readAug 19, 2020

--

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.” — Harriet Tubman

Let’s not bury the lede. I have news:

I’m excited to share that I am joining the philanthropic investment firm, Omidyar Network (ON). In my role as Principal, Beneficial Technology, I’ll be working to help the tech world live up to its promise of changing our lives for the better.

There is incredible alignment between ON’s goals and my own. I want this to be the start of a trend where women of color who’ve been on the frontlines get to work their magic on the world’s toughest problems… with budget and backing.

If you don’t know what ON is about, more context is below.

“…we will focus on a core set of the pressing, difficult, and deeper issues that have emerged in society across four broad areas: reimagining capitalism; promoting the beneficial use of technology; building bridges in a pluralistic world; and fostering individual capabilities and empowerment.”

“…we find ourselves in a world where we are hyper-connected, yet inhabit increasingly fragmented communities; where we recognize our interdependence on the richness of global diversity, yet identify ourselves by the niches we each occupy; and where overall productivity increases, yet individual economic opportunity fades for most while wealth concentrates in a tiny minority.

Positive social impact today requires addressing these and other issues, rules, and norms that govern individual opportunity, markets, and the economy; that shape how technology affects individuals and communities; and that either prevent or empower individuals to be autonomous and reach their full potential.”

(read more here)

If you’ve been following my work, this will sound like an obvious next step. Check the receipts: Exhibit A; Exhibit B; Exhibit C; Exhibit D; and Exhibit E. I want to connect people, and bring together a powerful, expansive network that will upend the status quo and fix this world.

I’m confident that I’ll be able to spread my wings at Omidyar, and this woman is ready to fly.

“We are building together, and each one of us has a brick.” — VaShone Huff

I am a bridge.

Many moments in the past several years have led me to a deeper understanding of who I am. Especially this one, and this one. But those moments will not end here. I will remain involved with a few key initiatives going forward. Here’s how:

Black & Brown Founders

I am transitioning from Executive Director to Board Chair, and honored to pass the baton to Deldelp Medina who will serve as Executive Director.

Deldelp (the “P” is silent) has been part of Black & Brown Founders (BBF) from day one. My conversations with her are where the idea for BBF was born. Her words became our signature phrase: Rewrite the Playbook.

As we’re all navigating conversations around racial equity right now, I want to take a moment to tackle any concerns about the centering of Black lives as it relates to these changes: BBF will continue to have Black leadership, but never at the exclusion of our Latinx counterparts. Representation at our organization is not an “either/or” but a “both/and.”

It’s my honor to give the stage to Deldelp, who is an experienced operator with an encyclopedic knowledge of Silicon Valley’s history and its relationship with people of color. She is my partner, my consigliere, my sister, my friend. I have the greatest confidence in her, and I’m thrilled to support Deldelp in this new role.

Zebras Unite

I remain a Co-Founder and Special Advisor to Zebras Unite (an Omidyar Network grantee) as I have for the past year. You’ll be seeing new flavors of awesome come from the dazzle with our newly-formed co-op led by Mara Zepeda, capital services led by Astrid Scholz, and Jennifer Brandel serving in leadership. In case you missed it, check out the most recent updates about our vision and corporate structure.

Black Innovation Alliance

I’ll continue to serve as Co-Convener of the Black Innovation Alliance alongside Kelly Burton, working in collaboration with 50+ leaders and several partners who are coming together to build pathways to Black prosperity through entrepreneurship in the innovation economy, from idea to exit.

Firefly Alliance

You’ll find me contributing to the Firefly Alliance, in support of Meghan French Dunbar, VaShone Huff, and Jocelyn Macdougall, as we reimagine leadership for womxn.

We’re part of something way bigger.

I’m fighting for the version of this story where a critical mass of people align their interests and harness the power of collective action to reshape our systems, institutions, and technology for everyone’s benefit. If we want today’s troubles to be a distant memory, then a network of honest, committed, altruistic people must redefine how the world will work.

The bad news is that there’s a pretty big mess to tackle, and it will take a lot to clean it up. The good news is that the work has already begun.

It takes as many of us as possible, one action at a time, standing firm to do our part to minimize harm to others and maximize collective prosperity for everyone, starting with the most marginalized.

This is the work.

My husband likes to say that “there is no magic,” that a human has the power to make something happen, and then decides to make it happen. I disagree, because I see magic happen all the time. The magic is in those moments where everyone agrees to make something happen together and actually starts doing it.

“If you can’t fly, then run. If you can’t run, then walk. If you can’t walk, then crawl. But whatever you do, you have to keep moving forward.” — Martin Luther King Jr.

None of this happens alone.

There are wonderful people who have been with me throughout this journey.

All these beautiful faces are partners that I have created, launched, and built things from scratch with in the past several years.

I must express my deepest gratitude to my incredible co-creators, past and present. I encourage you to follow/hire/amplify/sponsor/support these brilliant, talented people: Deldelp Medina, Mara Zepeda, Astrid Scholz, Jennifer Brandel, Kelly Burton, Monia Santinello, Jason Lorne Giles, Francesca Escoto, Syreeta Martin, Lili Gangas, Liane Nogueira Dutton, Opeola Bukola, Tiffany Gaines, Phnam Bagley, Arlan Hamilton, Christie Pitts, Meghan French Dunbar, VaShone Huff, Jocelyn Macdougall, Karla Monterroso, Y-Vonne Hutchinson, Ellen Pao, Michelle Kim, Laura I. Gomez, Nicole Sanchez, Tracy Chou, Erica Joy Baker, Tara Reed, Ramona Ortega, Stephen Green, Yscaira Jimenez, Darrell Jones III, Maurice Wilkins, Andre Davis, Alejandra Martinez, Allison Krug, Liliana Monge, Kristina Jones, Julia Collins, Karina Cabrera Bell, Andrea G. Tatum, Vanessa Faulkner, Whitney G. Smith, and Maria Choi.

And Marco Rogers, the love of my life with whom I made my greatest creation to date, Noemi Rose.

These people are my mirrors, my muses, and my accountability partners. There is magic between us.

And finally, to my many other collaborators, supporters, friends, family, and followers — I see you and I love you oh so much. I would not be who I am today without you, and I hope that you’ll join me in what comes next. Everyone is invited.

Want more of me?

While I get into my new groove, you can find me on these virtual stages in 2020: TechCrunch Disrupt (Sept 17th); CHROMA (Sept 28th-Oct 2nd); and RubyConf (Nov 19th).

You can also: 📣 Follow me on Twitter; 💻 Poke around my internet home;📱 Get my text updates at 415–943–5358; and watch this video, just for funsies:

If you made it this far, thanks for reading. 🥰 If you liked it, show me some ❤️ and make it clap. 👏🏾

--

--

Aniyia L. Williams
Black & Brown Founders

systempreneur. creator. human. now building @ omidyar network. founder @ black & brown founders, tinsel. co-founder @ zebras unite, black innovation alliance.