Super Short Story #27 — Interview

Marcilena J Bailey
1 min readJun 17, 2024

“Why are you looking for a new job?” they ask.

Because I’m heartbroken. Because I fell in love, and it didn’t work out and now I need to run from the mess I made. I am a child who broke a window and needs to escape the consequences of my own actions. I am a child running with the bat because I cannot shed myself of my own destructive tendencies. And I run here because maybe there are other people with bats here. Maybe there are other people who understand how easy it was to break the window. Maybe they broke their own windows. Maybe not. But there’s a chance. The odds are better here than in the pile of shattered glass I was just standing in.

“It’s just time,” I said instead. “Time to grow in a different environment.”

I’m challenging myself to do at least 50 super short stories in what’s left of 2023 (and 2024 because I didn’t want to push myself hard enough to break). Follow to get a sense of my progress.

--

--

Marcilena J Bailey

Writer, Podcaster, Twitch Streamer - Exploring the depths of creativity, the limits of conventions, and where we fit within it all.