The Apocalypse Soon-ish: A Force so Strong as to Strip the Ego away

Marcilena J Bailey
4 min readMay 23, 2024

Even if I can’t get into a genre, I still want to do my best to respect it. Because in reality, I’m not the master of the universe, nor do I want to be. And it would be hypocritical of me to pull my support away just because something didn’t directly serve me. In reality, my disinterest could simply be the product of differences, important differences that reflect the plurality of life. After all, we cannot all be on the same journey. If we were, we would all have the same lessons and the same insights. Frankly, it would be rather wasteful and pointless. Differences are what leads to differences in thoughts and insights. It leads to a variety of tools that then lead to the various products and innovations that define our world. While it is true that I use those terms and conjure images of engineers and programmers, you could say the same thing about writers and authors. If we all lived the same story, there would only be one story to tell or one we could tell.

Post-Apocalyptic narratives, stories that take place after the destruction of the world or civilization, are some of the least appealing to me. But if I am to be honest, any dark, gritty story just goes right over my head. The podcast Zed1 is technically post-apocalyptic. It tells the story of a husband and wife duo trying to survive in the apocalypse, but it takes on a…

--

--

Marcilena J Bailey

Writer, Podcaster, Twitch Streamer - Exploring the depths of creativity, the limits of conventions, and where we fit within it all.