Access to Current Technology

Oregon Educators
2 min readJun 2, 2017

--

By Jason Pinkerton, Instructor at Mount Hood Community College

Throughout my life I have had several teachers profoundly impact the path I have chosen. Their dedication and passion for teaching students was something I knew would give me fulfillment as a profession. I work as a Natural Resources instructor at Mount Hood Community College. My love for the outdoors gave me an avenue where I could excite students. As a teacher of natural resources I feel I am doing my part to shape future generation of resource managers and positively impact the environment.

“Data collection and analysis tools are ever-changing technologies within our industry.”

To be successful, my students need a strong support network connecting them to each other and future employment. Our program is deeply seated in providing fundamental technical skills required by industry. We are fortunate to have continued support from our private, local, state and federal agencies throughout the United States. This means our Associate of Applied Science (AAS) degree program produces students valued for their knowledge, skills and experiences.

Continued access to current technologies employed by industry professionals is critically important for my students. With potential budget cuts in sight, this feels in jeopardy. Data collection and analysis tools are ever-changing technologies within our industry. An example of this ever changing technology is Geographic Information Systems (GIS). Our program students need access to these tools in order to be competitive in the job market.

Nothing satisfies me more than to see my students obtain a seasonal field position during their first year of study using the skills I have helped them develop. To prepare them for their careers, we need adequate funding and resources.

Jason Pinkerton is a Natural Resources Instructor at Mount Hood Community College. #OREducatorVoices

--

--

Oregon Educators

Improving the future of Oregonians through quality public education.