Sales of Heroin Lawyers in Orange County
In Orange County, a Sales of Heroin charge is likely to result from a police encounter, such as an undercover drug sting or residential search warrant, possibly based on information provided to police by an informant. Although not technically a sale, other actions such as transportation or importation of heroin may result in a charge for sales of heroin in Orange County.
Oren Atias: If you have a charge for Sales of Heroin in Orange County you need to act immediately because the penalties are severe, including prison or jail time, stiff penalties, parole or probation, drug rehabilitation, and community service. Also, if you are deemed to be addicted to heroin then you may lose your driving privileges in Orange County.
Sales of Heroin in Orange County — The Law
First, let Sales of Heroin Lawyers in Orange County give you the relevant law. The relevant portion of the law that is applicable to Sales of Heroin in Orange County is summarized below. However, the full text of the Sales of Heroin laws in Orange County can be found in California Health and Safety Code Section 11352.
To prove that the defendant is guilty of Sales of Heroin, the Prosecutor must prove that:
The defendant (sold /gave away/transported/imported into California) heroin;
The defendant knew of its presence; AND
The defendant knew of the substance’s nature or character as heroin.
Penalties if convicted
If you are convicted of Sales of Heroin in Orange County, you may face severe penalties. Sales of Heroin in Orange County is a felony.
According to Oren Atias, the statutory sentence for Sales of Heroin in Orange County includes a prison sentence from two to four years. However, depending on the circumstances of your case, the possible sentence can be elevated to a range of three to nine years. Additionally, there is a fine of up to $50,000. (See HSC 11352, 11352.5, and CPC 1170(h).) Also, a court may say that you are addicted to heroin and you may lose your driving privileges in Orange County. (CVC 23152(c).)
Our team of lawyers may be able to assist you with a number of different options if you are convicted of Sales of Heroin. In Orange County, a prison sentence for sales of heroin may be shifted to a local jail sentence. You may also be eligible for probation or community service.
Related Charges of Possession for Sales and Offering to Sell Heroin
To find a defendant guilty of Possession for Sales of Heroin in Orange County, the Prosecutor must show that you possessed heroin with the intent to sell it. (See HSC 11351). The Prosecutor can try to show that you intended to sell heroin in Orange County in a number of ways. For instance, cell phone messages indicating heroin sales is a red flag, and may be admissible in court to show your intent to sell heroin.
Sales of Heroin Prior Convictions in Orange County
If you have prior convictions for sales of drugs, then you may face increased penalties in your current Sales of Heroin case. Our team of lawyers aggressively challenges any prior convictions. For instance, if your prior sales of drugs conviction occurred more than 10 years ago, or if it occurred in another state, then we may be able to get those prior convictions stricken.