Photo by rawpixel.com from Pexels

It’s Time To Ignore The Hug Awkwardness

Did you know hugs save lives?

Oren Cohen
The Geek Writer
Published in
4 min readApr 25, 2019

--

When I was in High School, everyone thought I was gay for giving long hugs to other men to the extent it became awkward (I never had close female friends growing up since I was in a religious school where girls study in separate classes). I do prefer women as romantic partners, but at the time I was so lonely, overweight, and awkward around women that I craved human touch.

Those hugs probably saved my life.

There are many pieces of research around Google proving that human touch in general and hugs, in particular, are beneficial for health and social interactions. Basically, hugs help the body make more Oxytocin which makes us feel closer to those we hug and is beneficial to our well-being.

I hugged many people in my life. I embraced them like they were a lifeline to my sanity. I hugged them tight and exposed my heart to them.

And some of them ignored my feelings. That’s perfectly normal. I chose to accept my emotional sensitivity for the remainder of my life. I feel good when I hug people. I feel great when I talk to people and look straight through their eyes into their souls. I feel incredible when I hold their hand in mine and let the energy of the human spirit pass between us. I’m melting a bit…

--

--