My DOT project is over

Daniel OM
2 min readMay 15, 2019

--

Did you know that 16.4 million Americans believe that chocolate milk comes from chocolate cows? Yeah, that’s cool. Moo. So anyway, back to the point. Throughout my project I saved 40 ounces of steak. I saved 4,500 gallons of water, or the equivalent of 20 months of showering. It turned out that it wasn’t that difficult to cut out beef and steak from my diet and it doesn’t pose too much of a challenge to continue. I’ll probably continue trying to avoid beef, but I’ll be fine with eating it once in a while.

Assuming that everybody in D.C. had the same original habits as I had in the beginning, if everybody in D.C. did my DOT project, we would collectively save 2.85 billion gallons of water (105,738 years of showering) and according to greeneatz.com 30.6 kilos of CO2 per person. For all of D.C., this would be saving 19.4 million kilos of CO2, or not driving over 45 million miles.

Now is the part where I run out of things to say, and have to use a lot of words without saying much so that I can reach the right amount of read time to get an A. So here we go. Well, I can keep on extrapolating my data for larger and larger populations. For example, all of the U.S. doing my DOT would save enough water to fill 2.23 million Olympic size swimming pools. That’s a lot of water. So yeah. Don’t eat beef kids.

I encourage anyone reading this to try and not eat beef for a month, it really isn’t too difficult, so the task shouldn’t appear too daunting. With enough people actively trying to help the environment we can make a difference.

--

--