Talent: Good, But Overrated

Oboite Osahon
3 min readDec 10, 2018

--

The sun was standing next to me. I couldn’t help but take a shot. My photography skill needs some work though :)

“Make your accomplishments seem effortless.” – Law #30 of Robert Green’s 48 Laws of power. Robert argues that people will value you more when they think you do not share their struggles in a particular matter. This is indeed true. Every man wants to be dubbed “talented.” Being without talent is by no means appealing. In 2013, I almost slid into depression after a close friend scornfully asked if I had any talents. I examined myself for weeks, and found no talent to point out. “I have no talent” I thought. The world had taught me that those without talents are doomed. For years, I thought I was destined to fail.

I was dubbed a gifted child in my early years. My relatives sang my praise because I could solve mathematical problems they thought were beyond my level. However, as at the time my friend asked that question, I had lost my reputation. I wasn’t special at all. In fact, I was struggling. I felt like a billionaire who had lost all his wealth.

For a very long time, I had the notion that I could only do what I am “gifted” at. Many motivational speakers tell us to find the things we have to first find our gifts /talents, then try to be very good at it. This philosophy – doing only the things you are gifted at – is total BS. In reality, a vast majority of us are not “special.” That, howbeit, should not hinder us from doing the things we want to do. Every skill can be learnt and mastered if practiced deliberately.

Back to Robert Green’s law, although he tells his audience to work extremely hard, he also tells them not to reveal how hard they work. I think a lot of successful people are living by this principle. The good thing is that it makes them look like gods. However, it sends a wrong message to the younger generation. We have formed this impression that if it does not come effortlessly, it is not for us. I remember breaking down and telling Gideon, my friend, how I don’t feel cut out for programming. I thought I could not understand coding easily because I had fried my brain during my junkie days. I tried to master JavaScript in three months! After all, I am intelligent. I was wrong. For the very first time in my life, I had to teach myself something I didn’t feel cut out for. Although I am not yet exceptional, I am making huge strides.

This is the point I want to drive home: talent is good, but overrated. A whole lot can be done by ordinary people with sheer hard work and persistence. Angela Duckworth’s research proves that people succeed, not necessarily because of talent or opportunity, but grit and self-control.

Having talent or coming from a rich home does give you a head start, but the poor "talentless" guy who works harder, and is more persistent will catch up.

If you are without any real talent like me, do yourself a favour by not wishing to be the smartest guy in the room, but the hardest worker. Be the guy that studies more. Be the lady that reads and writes the most lines of code. Take up more projects. Tackle the most problems. Desire to excel by sheer hard work and you will.

--

--