Twitter Privacy Settings for Beginners

Image source: www.internetlaw.com

Twitter is a social networking platform with hundreds of millions of users worldwide. In addition to personal, business, and entertainment accounts, there are many troll, spam, and malicious accounts as well. Therefore, users should recognize the importance of privacy and adjust their settings accordingly in order to filter the content people are able to see.

Here’s what you need to know:

Photo tagging — This setting regulates who is able to tag you in photos. There are three options: allow anyone to tag you in photos, only allow people you follow to tag you in photos, or do not allow anyone to tag you in photos. The latter two options are recommended, as they will help with the prevention of spam or unwanted messages.

Tweet privacy — Probably the most important privacy setting, this allows users to “protect their tweets”. This means that only users you have authorized to follow you can see your tweets. In addition, your tweets can only be “favorited” but not “retweeted”, further limiting the content unauthorized users are able to see. It is recommended that this setting be turned on, as it prevents random and potentially unwanted users seeing your tweets.

Tweet location — This setting simply allows you to attach a location to your tweet using location services on your computer or mobile device. Having this setting turned on may allow your movements to be tracked, therefore it is recommended that this setting be turned off.

Personalization — This setting regulates whether or not Twitter is able to make suggestions to you on who to follow based on the tracking information they have collected. As a beginner user, this feature may be helpful in building a personalized timeline tailored to your interests. It is important to note that with this setting turned on, Twitter continuously saves information about your movements within the social network.

Show your support

Clapping shows how much you appreciated oscar’s story.