My.heart.speaks
2 min read3 days ago

I’m lying down in my dark room. My eyes are fixed at my ceiling, but i can’t see it. All i can see is your beautiful eyes and your smile, God your smile..

The light from my bathroom is filtering from underneath the door and softly pouring into my corner, Temi(my roommate) forgot to turn off the light again.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Frankly speaking, you don’t deserve a spot in my mind right now, Legal methods should be taking up all that space until there’s nothing left for anything else.

A conversation from three months ago.

We would have never worked out. We both were not ready for a relationship. You didn’t think you were capable of having a relationship, and I was trying to get out of one.

Maybe we would have worked out. I was hoping we could. Those moments gave me hope, the stroll around the school(even if I always went back to my hostel with hurting feet), the childish arguments, the times we held hands, moments I’d catch you looking at me- you never looked away, you just smiled. Then everything changed.

I saw the signs, I saw how you looked at her, how you reserved a special look, just for her. I saw you with her all the time, I knew something was going on, I simply had to confirm.

I forced the truth out of your best friend yesterday (i might be 5’6, but i have my ways). He confirmed my suspicions, and when he said “Yes, they like each other”, it felt like my tongue was on fire. I swallowed back tears, leaned into my chair, and faked a laugh (as gangsta wey I be na).

She’s beautiful, inside out, and i hope things work out for both of you.

It’s 1:30 am. right now, and it’s chaos in my room. My roomates alarms are blaring, and I’ll take it as a cue to stop thinking of you.

I want to study legal methods. Please leave my head.

Y'all,meet my new baeeeeee✨️✨️🖤🥹
My.heart.speaks

I write,and I hope that the people I know in real life never find my medium account. Feel free to reach out to me♡ Mail: my.heart.speaks.too@gmail.com