Python Web Scraping: Part 6 Using google sheets API

iOSTom
Python + Data Science + Web
4 min readJan 31, 2020

--

In my last few articles I wrote about data mining with python and talked about a few useful libraries I use. Over the weekend as I was working on a project, I came across a problem and thought google sheets API might be a good solution.

In this article I will explain why I chose google sheets api, how to connect and write data to a spreadsheet and also explain the problems I ran into along the way. The reason I chose to use google sheets api is because I needed a place where links, images and content about social media posts could be updated and accessed by anyone who needed it, plus I kinda just wanted to see what google sheets was all about:).

I needed designers and social media strategist to be able to upload image links, media content and anything they thought needed to be included in a social post. Once the designers and social media strategist were done, I want the developer to be able to get the content they needed to build the post and disperse it to facebook and twitter.

First we need to connect to google sheets, todo this navigate to your google cloud account and create a project.

--

--

iOSTom
Python + Data Science + Web

iOS Developer, Go, Java, C#, Blockchain enthusiast, Data junkie