The Anti-Sugar Identity: Asaccarianism

Onur Solmaz
2 min readAug 28, 2018

--

In my previous article, I’d emphasized that the reasons for quitting sugar should be psychological, not dietary:

It struck me recently that every time I’m in the kitchen or in the restaurant with someone I recently met, I have to explain why and how much I don’t consume sugar, because I turn down offers of desserts and beverages, and they keep asking questions. It’s shocking to me how this hasn’t become a movement with a full-fledged identity yet, like veganism.

Although I dislike identity politics and labels, the cause against sugar and metabolic disease can benefit from their memetic qualities. And I know this identity doesn’t exist yet, because:

  1. Movement names in English and the global context are derived from Greek or Latin words, with the Greek suffixes -ism for the movement -ic/-ist/-an for the identity, e.g. atheism/atheist, veganism/vegan etc.
  2. The anti-sugar identity is derived from the Greek/Latin root of sachar or saccar, with the negatory prefix -a and the identity suffix -an: asaccarian. Pronounced AY-sack-ARYAN.
  3. Google Trends yields no results for asaccarian, meaning the word doesn’t appear anywhere online, as of now.

The identity becoming mainstream would ease the process of explaining to newcomers many orders of magnitude. Asaccarianism would simply mean not consuming sugar for whatever reasons, and going asaccarian would mean going sugar-free.

--

--