The Alternative Gen Xers Were A Lot Cooler Than We Give Them Credit For

Credit where credit is due.

Ossiana Tepfenhart

--

Photo by witchkingblogs on Unsplash

I’m in a weird position as a clubkid. I’m 34 — just old enough to remember the final tail end of the NYC “Limelight” era, though I never went. I was a Crobar and Exit type of raver.

I got to see what being a part of the old school, early 2000s goth scene was like. I was a regular at QXT’s, which is now actually pretty iconic in the alternative world.

Perhaps that’s why I tend to do a little eyeroll when people lump Gen X in with boomers, particularly on style. I don’t think younger generations appreciate how much craziness was going on during the 90s and aughts.

Gen X is often overlooked, but they really shouldn’t be. This was the generation that helped bring out most of the creative awesomeness we embrace today. If you’re a Gen Z kid, I want you to know a little bit about life back then.

Contrary to popular belief, being alternative in the 90s and 2000s was actually really not easy.

photo of the author from the other night

--

--

Ossiana Tepfenhart

I’m a weirdo who loves to write. Deal with it. Available for hire. Instagram @ossiana.makes.content