Ugly Truth: Hugh Hefner Was Both A Sex Rights Activist And A Trafficker

A look into my awkward love-hate with the Playboy brand.

Ossiana Tepfenhart
8 min readDec 21, 2021

--

via Playboy

Preface: I feel awkward writing this, because I have been trafficked and I still find myself feeling some type of way about Playboy as a brand. But, in the spirit of actually writing about what I see, it’s time we be honest. My love-hate relationship with the Playboy company needs to be addressed.

UPDATE: I have gotten word from a former bunny that there may have been sources I used that were inaccurate. I will be writing a followup to get a better idea of what bunnydom is really like.

I think that there are at least two generations of American men who had their fantasies shaped by the clean, sweet “girl next door” look of Playboy’s bunnies. Playboy, in and of itself, was a brand that basically defined American lust.

From the clubs that they had to the bunny outfits, to the actual high-quality writing of the magazine articles, Playboy set a brand new standard of sexuality and class. At the helm of it was Hugh Hefner, the man who continued to have six girlfriends up until his death.

I love and hate this brand. I love what it stood for and how it started the conversation towards sex. I hate what it did to the women involved, save…

--

--

Ossiana Tepfenhart

I’m a weirdo who loves to write. Deal with it. Available for hire. Instagram @ossiana.makes.content