Why I Think The Midwest Is Going To Have Tons Of Abandoned Cities Soon

I can’t believe most people haven’t figured this out. Oh, and “cities” is a loose term here.

Ossiana Tepfenhart

--

Photo by Jakayla Toney on Unsplash

I was reading up on something about a town called Gaylord, Kansas today. I actually forgot what the original topic was. Why? Because I saw a photo of Gaylord’s main street…and it looked like something out of a Wild West movie.

Look at that. Does it even look real to you? It doesn’t look inhabited, and yet, it is. A whopping 87 people still live in the city of Gaylord, though I’d be surprised if that number will increase.

Gaylord is an example of something that is very quietly occurring in many parts of the Midwest and South: rural community collapse.

But wait, aren’t people migrating away from cities?

--

--

Ossiana Tepfenhart

I’m a weirdo who loves to write. Deal with it. Available for hire. Instagram @ossiana.makes.content