Women Are Quietly Quitting Dating, And There’s Nothing We Can Do About It

And honestly, it’s probably a good thing.

Ossiana Tepfenhart
6 min readNov 25, 2021

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Today, I took a bath and got a phone call. And, I answered it. It was my best friend, and she was in a bad spot. She is currently stuck in her house, without her cellphone or any way to access her finances because of a bad date that went horribly wrong.

She, like many of my friends, desperately wanted to find that special someone. In the past couple of years, it was specifically marked by pain. Bad breakups, abuse, and several assaults left her feeling at her lowest.

“Ossiana, I think I need to stop,” she said.

“What do you mean?” I said.

“Dating,” she said. “I can’t do this anymore. Every single time I go out, I end up being victimized. It’s getting to the point where I’m afraid to go to nightclubs. Dude, I think I might be better single.”

My heart broke for her, but at the same time, I both understood and was not surprised. She is not the first of my friends to shrug off men as a whole, nor do I believe she’s the last. Rather, she’s a part of a very quiet movement happening underneath society’s nose.

A Quiet Quit

--

--

Ossiana Tepfenhart

I’m a weirdo who loves to write. Deal with it. Available for hire. Instagram @ossiana.makes.content