A TRIBUTE TO YOUR LOVED ONE — A SPOKEN WORD FOR THOSE WHO HAVE GONE

Osykhena Okpokpa
2 min readMay 21, 2023

--

TO THOSE WHO HAVE GONE

To those who have gone

I cried when your casket was carried and your corpse was encased inside

I cried ‘Christ!, this cross of death, came too early, it was not yet time

Is it a crime to be born? Why does death so quickly lay claim of our lives

Before we even live it. But Why?

But why wouldn’t proffer an answer.

But I hear your voice. It still whispers

So I think I am right when I say that you have not left us

Left for us, you are right here with us,

Dead but living

Our bodies didn’t define our relationship

Though my head is spinning

How can I think or wrap my mind around this

. . .

Death is the passage we all have to take

And you were brave, to go that way,

I know it was too early for you to be late,

But we can replay those precious days

The memories, your love and sacrifices

The laughter, the joy, the plays, the acts and scenes,

The perfect flaws, the dances and giggling,

The times of fun, the scolding, and quarrelling,

The never ending talks, the stupidity and gossiping,

The long aimless walks, the confiding, even when you were overbearing

The constant visitations, the strolling, and fighting

The throwing of tantrums, the apologies, and settling,

When you were too serious, and said ‘I didn’t mean it,’

Lol

Those precious memories I hold dear to my heart,

Though it breaks my heart,

That I cannot bring you back,

But we part so we meet never more to part,

I no longer mourn you cause you’re resting in peace,

Even though you missed the beauty of living,

You’ve now tasted the living water of heaven,

And I am sure, you wouldn’t want to return to earth, here, life isn’t that tasty

So, dear loved one, REST ON.

You are not confined in those casket walls,

This body is the cloth we merely PUT ON,

Your new body, I am dawn sure

Is prettier with no tint if Corruption,

Now your soul can LIVE ON

I stand at this shore

Keeping watch, over you,

And I see you at the HORIZON,

Though faint is the picture,

But my gaze is SURE,

And I am sure, you can see me

This is not your Obituary,

But a public notice that one of life’s pilgrims

Has journeyed into the known unknown, the other side of eternity,

You have conquered death under your feet

You have crossed the underworld with bravery

Death has now lost its sting

So live on, love,

Live life in the afterlife,

You can only die once, but live twice

--

--