Upgrading to a Framework Laptop

Otterlord
4 min readMay 19, 2022
Framework launched the 12th gen mainboard hours after I wrote this article XD

I’ve had this laptop on my radar for a few months now, and a week or two ago I bit the bullet and ordered one for myself. Before I explain why I ordered a Framework, and what my first few days of using it have been like, just what exactly is a Framework laptop?

Framework is a relatively new company with one main product. A laptop that is completely repairable and upgradeable by the end user. No more gluing the RAM and SSD. No using clips, or intrusion detection switches. You own the device, and Framework makes it easy to repair and upgrade it without the need to go to a repair shop. And they manage to do this all while keeping a slim and modern looking design.

Why the Framework?

My older laptop is only a few years old, however the limitations of 8GB if RAM with my daily workflow using VS Code, Discord, a few Firefox tabs, and maybe Docker Desktop are becoming blatantly obvious. I could probably upgrade the RAM if I found a matching component, as I’m sure the laptop has a spare slot. But this is far from my only limitation with my current laptop.

I’m also hitting the plateau of what I can store on my SSD, and while it’s another thing that I think most laptops allow you to upgrade and I could also look at an external solution, it’s another limitation of my current computer. As a family, we’re also in…

--

--