UI Design with Illustrator: Splash Screens

A template to get you started

Andrew Castro
2 min readFeb 8, 2014

Where it’s lacking

As a designer who loves working with Adobe’s illustrator I’m a little disappointed when it comes to resources for it. There are tons of templates, plugins, brushes you name it for Photoshop but a lot less for illustrator especially when it comes to UI Design. Unless its vector icons I’ve had a hard time finding UI resources for Illustrator so I’m going to attempt to do something about it.

Mockup of Ness Splash Screen

I tried to come up with something simple to start off with so I decided to go with splash screens inspired by some of the big brands. The screens are designed for iPhone 5+ (640 x 1136).

Although they may not be perfect replicas of their originals I created them more as a starting point for people to play around with and maybe learn something from.

Mockup of Path Splash Screen

I’m not associated with any of these companies I just hope to help someone like me who enjoys UI design and probably searches the web for Illustrator files for UI.

All 5 Splash Screens included in the file

The file comes with 5 example splash screens and an iPhone template as well.

Getting Started

You can download the file here

The fonts were downloaded here and here.

The iPhone template is from a great designer named Vlad Cristea. You can also get his template here but I’ve included a copy in the ai file.

I hope you enjoy this and this is helpful in someway. I will try to create more of these in the future and if there’s anything I can improve upon or you would like to see from me feel free to drop a comment below.

--

--