Destructive Power of Micromanaging

Ouki Saputra
3 min readMar 9, 2021

Few days ago I met with my old college buddies, two of my buds that in the very same pit struggling together back then to get our degree, but I have not know them anymore for they change beyond any measurements, thanks to the abusive power of micromanaging they receive as a daily basis in their job.

“People always change” that’s what my simpleton minds argue in this very matter and somehow I agree to a certain degree, but not with this particular case I have encountered with my friends, this is ridiculously exaggerated.

They succeed in their career, have tons of money, able to buy their own car, have the latest gadget, having a holiday abroad, drinking expensive booze with no worries or even munch on a very extravagant meal as their daily lunch, yet when I dive down on their story it seems like a miserable life to had.

Within the hour of our meeting that took time way out of working hour, I heard these two guys smartphone ringing like crazy for numerous times and they had to pick it all up for it's their bosses on the line, they just cant escape it as if their life depends on the string their bosses easily toy and cut as they please.

As their stories flow on I realize that both of my friends even lost their own character due the high tension of micromanagement they had for years, one of them had to chauffeur their boss around when he is bored and even take care the boss side bitches errands if she went berserk and the other one are not even had his own vocabulary, for any words he spat out was precisely put out by his bosses down right to the tone.

But that didn’t get me ticked at first, the jaw-dropping news that one of em is having a hard time finding a wife and settled down due to all “the boss servicing” they had to do, that’s the one that gave me a smack to the temple. No wonder I don’t even recognize my own mates now, for the micromanagement has seeping deep then find a way to their soul and shape their way of thinking and bind them whole.

They had no freedom at all, not even out of working hours no matter where they are or what they do outside the office and their personality got stripped down to very minimal yet utterly skeptical about almost anything, but that is not even the saddest part, the fact that they don’t even realize this and have no way to escape this situation is way beyond grief.

Then I came to think, who the f@#& invented such method and what kind of cruel world of a job the last generation had created, do this method still relevant in this decade, no wonder the world is littered with bad leader for centuries. This is what micromanagement does to people and its horrendous effect is beyond imagination.

--

--