#BonfireStories — Introducing Filmmaker and Producer Sam Hicks

Our Campfire
3 min readMar 7, 2019
Sam Hicks | Photo Credit: Susan Shek

  1. When it comes to storytelling, where do you get your inspiration from?

I am impacted the most by stories that have touched my spirit. Stories that have intimately affected my life. I’m inspired by individuals overcoming tremendous adversity to reach their goals, NO MATTER the circumstances life dealt them. The ultimate end is to never give up.An example is when I started writing my next project “Incarcerated Fathers.” It was inspired from my personal experience, dealing with my father’s imprisonment for the past 14 years. When I began to do my research, I asked my peers about their relationship with their fathers. I found out the majority of my closet friends fathers’ had also been incarcerated or just absent in their lives. These stories deserve to be told.

2. How did you prepare for your role as the D.P?

I prepared for the role by watching several films from the 80’s and 90’s that captured the essence of 90’s hiphop. Funny story, I was in love with “The Straight Out of Compton” club scene, when Ice Cube performed for the first time in Doo-To’s Club. That actual location was filmed at “The legendary Jewel’s Catch One Club.” I sourced New York City to find those old par can non LED lights used in that scene because they really gave the essence of hiphop in the…

--

--

Our Campfire

An artist-driven medium built to empower independent filmmakers to reach and engage audiences near and far. #BonfireStories https://ourcampfire.co