#BonfireStories — Introducing Filmmaker and producer Shawn Antoine II

Our Campfire
3 min readMay 23, 2019
Shawn Antoine I Photo Credit: Christopher Zapata

  1. When it comes to storytelling, where do you get your inspiration from?

When it comes to story telling I get my inspiration from my environment and history. I am from Harlem, NY the only place in the world where every street is named after a black historical icon. Harlem World continues to inspire me through the various stories from the past to the untold stories of today. I want to create content that not only inspires but also informs.

2. How does “show-time” reflect your personal experience growing up in NYC?

Like many people in NYC I am one who aspires to do great things in life. NYC is the busiest city in the world and there are many opportunities to get lost in these streets. Showtime follows Darius and Hakeem and there trials and tribulations once they leave the train. I know many people who turned down some amazing opportunities because they couldn’t move past the street life. Then there were those who were able persevere through everything. Showtime speaks to my experience and the many others who have had to make a decision about their future.

3. We notice the film is based on actual events. How did your experiences both personal and professional inform what you do now?

My 13 year…

--

--

Our Campfire

An artist-driven medium built to empower independent filmmakers to reach and engage audiences near and far. #BonfireStories https://ourcampfire.co