#BonfireStories — Introducing Filmmaker and writer Chloé Aktas

Our Campfire
3 min readApr 17, 2020
Chloé Aktas | Photo Credit: Glenn Roberson

Q:When it comes to storytelling, where do you get your inspiration from?

For me, the best stories always come from life. The human experience is different for each and every one of us. Nuances in our perceptions and responses to life’s turns and challenges are the bedrock to stories.

Q: Chloe, playing two integral roles: Production (directing) and post-production with editing, did everything you capture translate well on the final edit? and how did you effectively play these two roles?

I think what made me effective in both these roles is that I gave myself a lot of time for editing. It took me six months to reach the final cut, so I had a lot of time to play around with cuts and share with my peers. I am fortunate to have such gifted filmmakers as friends, and they are not shy about sharing their opinions with me. I enjoy editing my own work, as I tend to do more re-writing in post-production. Allowing myself the time to dig into the footage gave me the freedom to fine-tune the story and fully understand what was missing and what was working in the film.

Q: Lance (in a Neck Brace) just debuted at the Sundance Film Festival. How important is this to you personally, and to your career?

Being accepted into the…

--

--

Our Campfire

An artist-driven medium built to empower independent filmmakers to reach and engage audiences near and far. #BonfireStories https://ourcampfire.co