#BonfireStories — Introducing Filmmaker and writer Haley Anderson

Our Campfire
4 min readMar 10, 2020
Haley Anderson | Photo Credit: Jomo Fray

Q:When it comes to storytelling, where do you get your inspiration from?

Right now, I’m inspired by true stories, real events: my childhood, the people I grew up around, the people I love, the people I meet when I travel, the places I have gotten stranded in; overheard conversations. I try to read a lot of nonfiction and news stories from different parts of the world. I especially try to understand certain experiences or issues through the lens of my own life. I find that lately if it’s not true to my own emotional experience, I can’t tell that story. But that’s how I feel in this exact moment. I think my approach will change and I look forward to changing and discovering. Also, music, poetry and photography drives a lot of what I do.

Q: In your movie pillars, Why did you choose to tell a story that navigates intimacy and the church?

Having spent part of my early childhood in a few churches, I was interested in capturing what it feels like to be a small, unseen, yet curious person in a space that’s so influential and important to the older people around you. I started with images from my past and the spaces where I would go to escape authority, like the bathroom stall. I wanted to explore the tension between the emotions of self- revelation and a certain…

--

--

Our Campfire

An artist-driven medium built to empower independent filmmakers to reach and engage audiences near and far. #BonfireStories https://ourcampfire.co