#BonfireStories — Introducing Filmmaker and writer Terrance Daye

Our Campfire
5 min readFeb 27, 2020
Terrance Daye | Photo Credit: Unknown

Q: When it comes to storytelling, where do you get your inspiration from?

My primary goal as an artist at this time is to create more content that highlights the spectrum of possible black male expression while simultaneously challenging the systems designed to restrict it. My story telling is inspired by my community, my personal experiences and the storytellers whose work has convicted me to only write with abandon and intention and a sense of wonder: Toni Morrison, Marlon Riggs, Julie Dash…

Q: How does being a poet facilities your script writing and/or directing process?

Poetry and scriptwriting actually have a lot in common. The economy of words. Reducing the most complicated and expansive of ideas into images at once recognizable yet charged. My experiences with depression led me into filmmaking. I turned to filmmaking to capture the feelings I couldn’t articulate with words. Those feelings are complex and nuanced. When I am writing and directing, I’m usually looking for a container, a form, a structure capable of holding everything I need to say. As a result, my films tend to abandon classical three-act structure for something more honest and true to my experience.

--

--

Our Campfire

An artist-driven medium built to empower independent filmmakers to reach and engage audiences near and far. #BonfireStories https://ourcampfire.co