#BonfireStories — Introducing Filmmaker Sade Clacken Joseph

Our Campfire
3 min readMar 12, 2019
Sade Clacken Joseph| Photo Credit: Vickie Manning

1. When it comes to storytelling, where do you get your inspiration from?

I get my inspiration from many places: television shows, books, movies, people and places around me, but if I had to choose one thing I think my biggest inspiration comes from my upbringing as a first-generation American. My parents are West Indian/Caribbean immigrants and I had a bit of a dysfunctional coming up experience, constantly trying to understand where I fit in and what my identity was. I realize now, those experiences of being an outsider, of always watching my worlds and cultures collide, has informed the type of stories I am drawn to telling, and my eye as a filmmaker.

2. How did you prepare for your role as a director for “HATS”

Hats is about a kid from South Central. I am from the Bronx. It was important for me to spend time in South Central, and talk to people who had gone through similar experiences as Kito, specifically within that community. I was also (sad to admit) not very familiar with baseball, so I went to a few games and watched as much as I could! I also studied baseball films, so I could understand the most dynamic ways to shoot the sport. Watching films like Dope, Boyz in the Hood and Straight Outta Compton were also helpful.

--

--

Our Campfire

An artist-driven medium built to empower independent filmmakers to reach and engage audiences near and far. #BonfireStories https://ourcampfire.co