#BonfireStories — Introducing Filmmaker, writer Rémi Thevenart

Our Campfire
3 min readMay 21, 2019
Rémi Thevenart | Photo Credit: Unknown

1. When it comes to storytelling, where do you get your inspiration from?

The most inspiring is what I see. If you are blocked or if you’re having some trouble to write, sometimes you just need to raise your head and look around. Every single thing is interesting. You just have to analyze the emotions it gives you and get to work.

2. How did you prepare for your role as the director being that you also wrote the script?

It was a first for both positions for me. So I asked a lot of questions to the directors that I know because I was stressed and I didn’t want to make any mistakes. Being the writer and the director can be tricky because sometimes when you are writing, you think too much about the movie and you can forget to focus on the story. But it’s also a privilege because when you are on the set, you have a total control on the script and that gives you a lot of keys to be in a constant rewriting.

3. We notice the film is based on actual events. How did your experiences inform what you do now?

The main inspiration for Kaiju came from my panic attacks. In my case it’s something that grows step by step and that either ends with a feeling of being lost or violence. The only medicine I found was sport, because it cleared my mind. I…

--

--

Our Campfire

An artist-driven medium built to empower independent filmmakers to reach and engage audiences near and far. #BonfireStories https://ourcampfire.co