#BonfireStories — Introducing Writer, actor and Producer Coffey

Our Campfire
3 min readFeb 26, 2019

--

Coffey | Photo Credit:Unknown

Introduce yourself to the world.

My name is Coffey. I’m an Actor, Writer, Storyteller, Producer and most importantly a Father. And although, I have directed, I still like to say soon to be Director because there’s still room to grow into that position.

1.When it comes to storytelling, where do you get your inspiration from?

I get my inspiration from my own experiences and what I’m surrounded by. Here in New York, once I step outside, I see everything from A to Z. But, I’m a realist when it comes to typing a screenplay, meaning these things are either happening or can actually happen.

2. What is the toughest challenge you’ve faced so far?

The toughest challenged I’ve faced so far is when you’re extremely passionately about your project, the next step is to get the right producer or producers behind it. Well, it’s not as easy as it sounds. Fortunately, I’ve had many of well known producers say they believe in me and my writing, but unfortunately, none of those producers have come forward to produced any of my projects. So, I didn’t allowed all the No’s to discourage me because I knew all I needed was that one Yes. I was blessed with that from a producer that only produces features, but understood the importance of this short. So, it’s a great ending to the challenge that I’ve faced, but there’s always tomorrow when I have to start searching again because there’s more storytelling to be seen.

3. What kind of world do you want to see now that your film “About The People” is made? (For clarification) We know that there is a message you as a filmmaker are conveying to your audience, what is that message?

For me, it’s about things being fair, no matter what color you are. And after folks watch “About The People” it will lead to that discussion. Because yesterday and today, the climate for people of color doesn’t sit well with me, nor for millions of others. So, the message I’m conveying to the audience is simple, “let’s talk about it and see what’s up”. I mean I can say so much more, but I’ll leave it as that for now.

4. As a filmmaker, what are some key lessons you learned so far?

One of the key lessons I’ve learned is that everything isn’t for everybody, so pay attention to detail and accept what it is, but don’t change what you believe in. Another key lesson, which is how I was raised, is to be kind to everyone and on set know who’s who and what position they play, so everyone gets to enjoy the process of making the film and adding their value to it in whatever they were hired to do.

5. What do you know today that you wish you knew when you began your journey as a filmmaker?

Don’t just hire someone because you know them. Trust and believing in a project is major. Everyone on board has to want this as much as you do or it has the potential of showing up in post.

6. What would you say is your unique responsibility as a filmmaker?

My responsibility is to keep the audience entertained with true and exciting films. Stay tuned!

How can others reach out to you and/or stay informed about your upcoming projects?

People can reach out to me and stay informed about any upcoming projects by following my personal Instagram @thatcoffeyboy and for the short @aboutthepeoplefilm

--

--

Our Campfire

An artist-driven medium built to empower independent filmmakers to reach and engage audiences near and far. #BonfireStories https://ourcampfire.co