2022 Royal Enfield Himalayan: Honest, Thoughtful Review

Ron Knezek
8 min readFeb 16, 2023

--

Why I purchased and what I think now.

Adv Motorcycle

Hello Folks! If you are here, you are probably trying to figure out what all the hullabaloo is regarding the Royal Enfield Himalayan. I get it. If at any point my droning with the written word gets tiresome, skip to the bottom and view on my YouTube channel. Though, I have to admit I am from Texas, so, that would be a different sort of droning…

Thoughts that led to purchase…

Ever since the Suzuki V Strom showed up on the scene in 2002, this affordable option to the big BMW Adventure Bikes really got my brain working. Since its 2023, it obviously doesn’t work fast. Despite the seed being planted, I still purchased 4 different Harley Davidson Motorcycles in the meantime. I just couldn’t let go of the chrome I suppose.

Another thought I had is I did not want to spend $20k on a motorcycle that I was ultimately take up in the mountains on trails. And, even the biggest and the best offered results that were not stellar in the off-roading trials. There has, admittedly, been tremendous improvements and variety added since 2002.

Sorrento, Italy. Busses actually drive down there, but oh my!

The most recent influencing factor in my calculus was my trip to Europe the summer of 2022. There were not a tone of adventure bikes in London, Paris, Rome, Florence, Bremen or Berlin. The types of bikes I saw were mopeds and super low displacement motorcycles that sped people around the cities day in and day out.

My 96 cubic inch Harley was really becoming overkill with the new global perspective. It softened my thoughts about horsepower and torque so much that I began to think about the pure enjoyment of motorcycling.

I live in Colorado and the mountains are the reason. It finally clicked that I did not need a super high displacement motorcycle to combine my two loves; mountains and motorcycles.

And then it happened

While voice acting up in my studio, I began to watch videos on YouTube about different types of adventure motorcycles. I watched Darcy and The Ol’ Man review multiple bikes. I watched KARMAkaze Moto pick up a Royal Enfield Himalayan in Seattle and ride it back up to Alaska. He, in turn, referred me to Itchy Boots who also rode a Himalayan. I was inspired. My local Harley dealership, Durango Harley, is also a Royal Enfield Dealer. Since I just recently left my job to be a voice actor, I did not want to spend my reserves on another motorcycle, so I traded for a 2022 Royal Enfield Himalayan. Rock Red in color, thought I wanted Lake Blue…

My Himalayan a few days after purchase. Wow!

There it is. Just a few days after purchase, I rode up to Kennebec Pass on a 4wd trail to about 12k’ elevation. It was over. I was hooked. Before I get into my thoughts about the details, I have to say that I have had more fun on this bike in the almost two months that I have had it than all of my previous motorcycles combined.

Performance

Main Specs

  • Engine: 411cc single.
  • Power: 25 BHP.
  • Torque: 25.6 lbs-ft.
  • Wet Weight: 439 lbs (199.1 kg)
  • Seat Height: 31.5 inches (800 mm) at lowest point.

With numbers like that, it would be totally fair to say that I went from ditch to ditch with just about each one of those. Numbers are just that. But, what does it actually feel like riding?

On the highway

There is only so much a 5 speed transmission tied to a 25 hp engine are going to do with a 220 lb rider. I suspect I am not the primary demographic. (I have lost 5 lbs though!) When traveling the roads at a 65 mph speed limit, I did fine on the flat parts and the downhills. However, when the inevitable mountain road increased its grade, I struggled to maintain the speed limit. In fact, I had to downshift to 4th gear to stay at 60 mph. It may not sound like a big deal, but around this area we consistently run into RVs visiting that create frustration at their lack of maintaining the speed limit. So, I do not want to be “That Guy.” I would say 90% of the highways around me are just fine. Those long steep hills got me though.

Off the road on 4wd trails, etc…

I am new to off-road riding with a motorcycle; however, this is the primary reason for buying this motorcycle. The closest I come is mountain biking which I do frequently. The latter is much more work! My first ride consisted of a 4wd road up to Kennebec Pass at near 12k’ elevation. For the most part, the ride was mild. However, as I approached the top at the highest elevations with the largest drops off the side, I never felt a need for anymore power.

I was able to get my feet down thanks to the Himalayan’s low seat height so I had the added security of knowing I could if necessary. I did not need the option. I stood up a few times through a few super rocky and muddy bits. My 6' frame was a bit hunched over with the stock handlebar risers. I have since replaced with aftermarket risers from Tec Bike Parts that give an additional 30 mm of height. That made all the difference.

The seat was just fine. Not too hard or soft. I do believe I will buy one with a bit more height to it just to stretch the legs out a hair more. The riding position overall is very neutral.

Brakes — I have heard a lot of complaints about the brakes. They are not quite as responsive as some would like. From my perspective, I think they did the job just fine. They are from the Indian subsidiary of Brembo. All compared to a Harley of course.

I did experience wind buffeting with the stock windscreen, though I also had a GoPro mounted on top. Hasn’t been such an issues since changing helmets and mounting the GoPro elsewhere.

How about a pro/con list?

Cons

Let’s start with the negatives. There are really not many even after really thingking long and hard about it. They boil down to

  • CC’s. Ok, at highway speeds in the USA, the bike has a hard time keeping up with my personal geometry. I have to downshift to go over passes. However, I my truck downshifts to go over passes as well. So, maybe I simply have errant expectations.
  • The seat is a bit on the low side and also cupped out so that the ability to move around is challenging when on rougher terrain. This is also a positive for those of a different size, but I will add a Seat Concepts Seat in the near future. I will get the tall size which will give me more room to move and also more space in the cockpit for knee extension.

Pros

  • It is budget friendly at $5299 when I purchased (I think it increased a bit for 2023). What a great way for people to get into this segment of adventure riding without a huge investment. Its a win!
  • The weight of the Royal Enfield Himalayan is on the lower side of the segment. One of the other bikes I was considering when I purchased was a Yamaha Ténéré 700 and the weight is comparable.
  • Right along with the weight of the bike is its low seat height at 31.5". The Yamaha does have about an inch on the the Himalayan’s ground clearance as a result with its 34.4' seat height; however, the long running Kawasaki KLR 650 has slightly less ground clearance with a 34.3" seat height. If you want off-road capability, it is a consideration. This also affects the confidence many new riders have when going off-road. My personal goal is to encourage as many people of all shapes and sizes to get outside and ride.
  • The simplicity of the motorcycle is another strength in my mind. If a breakdown occurs, just about any mechanic will be able to work on this bike without having to jump over electronic controls on top of each other. Heck, I can do most of the repairs.
  • The style of this bike is oddly appealing. Dovetailing off the simplicity of the previous point, the bike is straight forward and utilitarian. I am not a huge fan of plastic facades that encompass many dual sport motorcycles out there.
  • Parts are not only available for this motorcycle, but they are affordable. Many of you may have seen some of the upgrades and installations I have done. Altogether, the parts I have bought including exhaust, fuel management, racks, saddle bags, tires, etc have all added up to right at a grand. If you comparison shop, you will find that is amazing!

In summary

Royal Enfield is the world’s largest motorcycle producer. It is also the oldest. These bikes are used around the world for getting people where they need to be to live their lives. There is a heritage behind the bikes.

The overarching thing on my mind that I would want someone to know about this bike is that I have thoroughly enjoyed it. It is FUN! Know what your purpose for the bike will be prior to purchase. If it is for touring from one side of the world to the other, you can do it. But, understand the limitations with highway travel. I really cannot convey why this bike appeals to me. It is a funky styled motorcycle. Looking at it on paper, it shouldn’t really work that well. The experience of the bike is greater than the sum of its parts.

Please feel free to reach out to me with any questions or thoughts either here or on my YouTube channel. I love to hear them! I do not really have much in the way of member perks on this site right now, but you are welcome to join for free and we can communicate.

If this article was helpful, consider becoming Outdoor Verified by subscribing so you won’t miss any updates on camping and outdoor gear recommendations. We even send out sale items when we find them to subscribers!

Thanks y’all!

Ron.

Originally published at https://www.outdoorverified.com on February 16, 2023.

--

--

Ron Knezek

We're Outdoor Verified, and we know a thing or two about the great outdoors. In fact, we've been exploring it for years. Come explore with us!