Designer Spotlight: Interview with Anna Geller

Out Of X
3 min readApr 12, 2015

The difference between the left side and right side of your brain can be the difference between a thriving business and a flailing one. In an industry that calls on extremely creative individuals to knock out unique collections season after season, the business side is often hard to master. Skirt designer Anna Geller of Gam Look stopped by the Out of X headquarters to talk about some of these struggles.

OOX: What made you go into fashion design?

Actually I was about 6 when I designed my first skirt! I created a huge one that fit all the family into it which for me, made it all about keeping us together.

But I’ve never been formally trained, I’ve just always loved creating.

OOX: If you hadn’t started designing as a 6 year old child, what do you think you be?

If I had to pick something else I think I would have become a musician; I went to music school and I play the piano and violin.

OOX: You design mainly skirts, it seems, why so?

I started with my first collection that actually included a lot more. It was a summer collection all made from natural silk that I bought in Hong Kong that included cocktail dresses, blouses, trousers and obviously skirts! This second collection includes only skirts. I opened an online store and am planning to increase assortment every seasons until I reach 101 skirts. At the same time I am looking to create a capsule collection for cocktail dresses.

OOX: As a designer, what struggles do you feel like you face on a daily basis?

Really it’s the business side — the designing and producing process I find comes very naturally, however the marketing and selling that must come after I find extremely difficult. I am now looking for a partner that can take on this side of the business and develop it with me.

OOX: What advantages do you think social media has on your business?

Well it doesn't if I’m honest. I know it has the potential too, and maybe I’m just not sure how to harness that. But actually my customer base is very much offline through pop-up stores and then they would always return.

I know it has the potential too, and maybe I’m just not sure how to harness that.

OOX: Where do you find inspiration for your designs?

Mainly the places I’ve been and get to see, and also children. I created a skirt that all around it had children playing that I had watched one day, like it was telling a story which I loved.

OOX: What do you count as your career highlight?

I would have to say it was when I had a fashion show in Jaffa, Israel. It was against a beautiful backdrop in an amazingly interesting location. There were also locals walking around in the background as it was out in the open, which topped it off perfectly.

OOX: What do you think makes a designer successful?

Sales! Being able to create is just half the battle.

For more inspiring fashion designers, go to www.outofx.com.

--

--

Out Of X

We make independent fashion SIMPLE and AFFORDABLE using the concept of crowdfunding. Brought to you by Fashion people #fashion #crowdfunding