This is How I take Podcast Notes in Obsidian

Krishnanunni H M
4 min readAug 30, 2020

--

A Few days ago I tweeted an Instagram worthy screenshot of my Obsidian notes, which was retweeted by the Obsidian Md official twitter handle.

Ever since then people have been asking me about the aesthetics and functionality of my notes.

I’ve created a Youtube Video of it.

The Video is no talking and all work. This article might make more sense if you consider it as an augmentation to the video.

PS: Initially, I thought I would create a voice-over commentary over it. But my laptop cant handles video editing so much, and at this point of time, I can't afford to damage my laptop.

So How do I take notes?

For the past few months, I have been using this neat not so stable, but nearly perfect and future proof software called Obisidian

Step One: Scrutinize

The first part of taking podcast notes is scrutiny. I usually listen to podcasts while I am up to my chores or exercise. If I listen to a podcast that seems to be rich in content, I bookmark it so that I can listen to it later.
You have to ask yourself,

“Do I want to capture this idea?

Do I think these might be of use to me in the future?”

This question is crucial. We live in an attention economy. Attention is so important that people pay money to get it. In such a world it is important that you spend your attention judiciously.

Step Two: Capture.

As I listen to the podcast, I briefly jot down ideas that strike my mind. I use hashtags liberally in between sentences.
The key is discoverability. (Or rather re-discoverability)

hashtags enable re-discoverability.
Imagine how easy it would be to write something on gender equality.

As you take notes, you should keep asking yourself;

“In relation to what topic/idea should I re-discover this piece of information in the future,(If and when I would forget it)”

Step Three: Atomize.

Atomic notes are notes with self-sustaining ideas. Or nearly self-sustaining ideas. If you have such notes, you can easily reference them in future articles or notes.

How do I atomise my notes?

I read through what I’ve jotted down, and try to reframe the knowledge I have collected as answers to simpler questions.

And then I reorganise the note in such a way that each note contains only one question and its answer(And perhaps reading suggestions for similar questions and answers)

Ta-da! Atomic Notes!

Step Four: Integrate

Once the atomic notes have been created, the next step would be to try and integrate these notes into the schema of knowledge that you have created over the years.
Personally, this is the most challenging part. You have to be creative. But this is the stage which makes all the effort worthwhile.
Think of it this way.

You are weaving your web of knowledge, intentionally. Authentically.

The underlined links are notes that existed previously. I remembered them as I was reading these notes. And so I linked them. This checks both principles I mentioned — discoverability and atomicity.

Sometimes this will give you creative insights that can change things.

To be the Change is to be powerful.

Step Five: Evergreen notes.

I think this could mean many things to different people. For me, it means that notes have to keep growing. Evolving, along with you.
Notes aren't screenshots of your thought process.
They are thoughts themselves.

Over time, you will be habituated;

Acquire speed and precision with these steps, and the steps will organically merge to become less distinct. They become more of an extension of your being.

You can very well observe this happening in the video.

I hope this helps with your note-taking process.

--

--

Krishnanunni H M

Writer. Opinion Pieces and scribbles in English and മലയാളം about movies books and ideas.