Grocery Store Monologue

Chris Owens
5 min readDec 4, 2023

Generalized anxiety plays havoc on a Thanksgiving-Day-Trip to the grocery store.

I have generalized anxiety order and it manifests in different ways, but one way that’s a little bit entertaining and soul-crushing all at the same time is the monologue that plays in my head at the grocery store. Today (Thanksgiving in the U.S.) I had to run and buy something for dinner, as well as the ingredients for green bean casserole. Kroger was open until 5 PM, so after sleeping in, walking and feeding my dog, I hopped in the car and braced for the crazy of a Thanksgiving Day grocery trip.

Parking, I noticed the lot wasn’t as as full as I was expecting, and I began to wonder if I had picked the perfect time to shop. Locking my car, I turned to walk into the store. And then it started.

Green bean casserole (photo by author)

Looks at nearest cart corrals.

“They never have any of my favorite short, two-tier shopping carts in the store, and I always regret not grabbing one on my way in. But there aren’t any outside. They better have them when I get inside.

“Why is that red Hyundai not going? It had plenty of time to make it through the pedestrian walkway before I get to it. Maybe it’s waiting for me to cross so it can run me over. How many instances of violence happen on Thanksgiving? There was that…

--

--

Chris Owens

Chris is a signed language interpreter, product manager, musician, and writer living in Columbus, Ohio with his partner Dan and their collie, Cooper.