Love Is A Doing Word.

Owoeye, Taiwo Bisola (DECHOSEN1).
2 min readSep 10, 2023

--

Love is a verb. It’s an action word.

It’s a Part Of Speech. It’s part of my speech to you.

When you told me you loved me, my thoughts dropped onto the floor of my heart, and the wind carried them each by their branches into the wind and they burst into thousands of stars into the skies.

When you tell me you love me now and then. I imagine I am in my dreamland dressed in a princess gown, the one that looks like Cinderella’s gown. Blue like the skies and sapphire shining in the atmosphere. I imagine that your arms are wrapped around me shielding me from the sun, the storm, and myself.

They say “they are in love with me” but they only love the way my skirt rolls around my hips. They say with deceitful mouths and flirtatious hearts “I love you.” But their eyes are on my curved chest and their lips gleaming with desires.

So when you say “I love you,” time freezes over and my breath ceases. I do not know whether to believe you or not but you know love is a doing word. Love is an action word. When the words flow easily out of your mouth, my words stiffen on my tongue and it’s difficult to say it. The manner that comes easily to your tongue. With time, I will learn how to Say it better.

Today, I feel the love surging from your fingertips. The way your fingers trace art on my hands. The way your hands swallow my hand as they embrace each other with warmth. The stuttering of your voice. The shyness envelops both of us as if we are strangers as if we can breathe right until a moment later before we break the ice.

I used to dislike the scars that seep from those three words. But now I want you to memorize my love languages and speak them softly into my ears. I want your breath intertwined in mine while we clasped hands in harmony and our bodies resting on each other as we’ve found home with ourselves.

Love is constant. When I’m a shadow of myself and my eyes wet with worries. I will be sane and strong for you. I know that you’ve always done everything except break with the weight of the world and then that doesn’t come until later for you. And here I am trying to tie all my traumas for myself and for you so that I won’t snap and be a different version of myself.

The hiatus we are stuck in is there for us to stretch our flaws into something fabulous and even if the world is against us, if we are meant to be, we will be.

©️DECHOSEN1

(Owoeye, Taiwo Bisola)

10/09/2023

--

--