Will You Take Care of My Children?

Sylvia Owusu-Ansah
3 min readJun 12, 2020

--

An honest commitment to taking care of our children can help combat racism

I have been a pediatric emergency medicine physician for over a decade. I take care of any child that walks through our emergency department. I do my best to make the children feel as comfortable as possible, to make them smile, to make them laugh, to forget about their troubles by blowing bubbles and drinking slurpees.

I wipe your tears away and your child’s as well. Before COVID I would give high fives and hugs. It did not matter what age, race, creed, sexual or gender orientation, all I want to do is make sure your children feel better.

I have taken care of your children on the brink of death, as well as kiss the little boo-boos away. I have taken care of your children when their eyes were red and swollen, when they could not see or had trouble hearing, when their ears hurt, when their bones were broken, when they had trouble walking, when they had a cut or bruise on the their body, when they choked, when their chest hurt, when they had a fever, when their skin was itchy, when their body could not stop shaking, when they had an infection, when their blood cells

overtook their body, when their immune system was low, when their stomach hurt, when they couldn’t eat or keep anything down, when they needed surgery, when they had trouble growing, when they were anxious, when they were depressed, when they were yellow, when they were assaulted or shot down, when they fell, when they wanted to hurt themselves or someone else, when they could not stop bleeding, when they swallowed poison, when their heart stopped, and when they could not breathe.

Your children have taught me that I am not perfect or a mini god in the field of medicine. They have taught me about love, patience, kindness, reconciliation, maturity, interpersonal skills, acceptance, humility and bedside manner. They have made me a better doctor.

As an African-American female with bi-racial children considered Black in this country, I ask you this question.

Will you take care of my children?

Will you take care of my children when they walk into a store to buy something?

Will you take care of my children when they are driving a car?

Will you take care of my children when then decide to wear their hair natural and flaunt their West African heritage?

Will you take care of my children if they get sick?

Will you take care of my children when they get an education?

Will you take care of my children when they buy house?

Will you take care of my children when they walk into a neighborhood or school where they do not feel welcome?

Will you take care of my children when they need a shoulder to lean on or someone to talk to?

Will you take care of my children when they go for a walk?

Will you take care of my children when they ask for help?

Will you take care of my children when they are tired?

Will you take care of my children and help protect their future and their future offspring?

Will you take care of my children when they get bullied?

Will you take care of my children when they are wearing hoodies?

Will you take care of my children when they are hungry?

Will you take care of my children when racism rears its ugly head at them?

Just know- I will always take care of yours.

--

--