The Unbearable Lightness of Releasing An App

Özgür Şahin
iOS App Development
2 min readMar 9, 2015

--

App to the store, out of my mind

If I’m in a place where I should stay but the content is not that intriguing, my mind starts wandering. One of these moments was during a regular meeting at my company. Our analyst was telling some requirements to the service unit. They were trying to negotiate about the workflow by going over it again and again. Usually, just to state a basic condition, they talk at least 5 minutes. As a developer, I thought all I need is a basic logic; if this then that, what the heck are you talking about?

This is my breaking point. I can’t stand listening all those extra descriptions and let my mind flow for a couple of minutes. I have a new hobby for these moments. I started drawing mockups for my app ideas. This is my mockup from last week.

The Mock-up

To loose the focus intentionally, I draw mockups in a couple of minutes. I realized that these breaks refresh my mind and organize the discrete ideas. Furthermore, I finished every app that I had drawn on a piece of paper. This is something like commitment to myself.

Idea Flow

Sometimes, dozens of ideas flood into my mind. I love the moment when you think you have just found a unique app idea. Yes that moment, right before you check out Appstore and find out that someone has done it already. Although, I have my unique app idea list on my iPhone, I usually end up with ordinary apps.

This is the MVP of my last wandering moment. I like shipping fast. This is the product of my leisure time in the last two weeks. I am still not sure whether I develop apps or they develop me.

The Fizzle

Nowadays, it’s really difficult not to be a zombie app. I see every app as a planet in the app universe that creates its own gravity. I hope my app will find its own way through the ocean or deep in the ocean :]. I should release my app now to stop the fizzle in my mind. If you wanna try it, here is the Muvo.

--

--

Özgür Şahin
iOS App Development

Articles about Deep Learning, iOS App Development, Entrepreneurship and Psychology