Turin: A Difference ⛰️

Ozlem's Diary
3 min readJan 23, 2024

--

Turin looks like it is outside part of Italy, the city had a big difference for us after the Rome, Florence, Pisa, and Genoa trips. Since my close friend lived there in his Erasmus era, we stayed in his apartment. It was pretty felt like home.

City with aura has Turin bulls everywhere, and they are welcoming!

We had a couple of days in Turin and the city has important museums, so we decided to go. We started with the Cinema Museum. The architecture of the building is really satisfying, it is one of the icons of Turin. Actually, when my friend mentioned there and what museum it is, I was shocked. I was expecting historical background.

The museum is worth visiting! I really enjoyed it. The museum provides being in the scenes of unforgettable movies. Also, it is the first time for visiting museum in Europe!

Also the night look is STUNNING.

We continued with Royal Palace.

Then, the Egyptian Museum! Different atmosphere!

I must thank to all the museum staff in Turin. They were so friendly and cheerful, they were willing to help! I’ve never experienced such willingness…

When I think about Turin, I immediately feel the extremely hot, sunny weather… We have Plum cake on our hands… My friend’s searching for shadows and she is crossing the road. But I cannot move due to temperature… Sun is on my face, at the same time I am trying to explore the city. Then we are entering the Royal Library of Turin. Art with healthy temperature. Relaxing…

We celebrated my friend’s birthday along the Po River’s shore. It was Friday night and crowded with teenage people. That night had a lovely ambiance, feeling like a student in Europe…

We ate most of our food at mensa of Politecnico di Torino, the food was delicious and cheap. The city will stay for me ‘the student city’.

Overall

I don’t have much information about accommodation in Turin, but I remember my friend talking about the prices and they are not cheap… On the other hand, overall, Turin is pretty suitable for a student budget. I want to visit Turin again with a rich budget and that time I must spend my time in the Turin Alps.

Regards, Özlem.

24.01.2024

--

--