Scientific side hustle on Pyhip and Gumroad.

P4k D3velopers
4 min readMar 26, 2024

--

Is this possible?

P4k’s Pyhip store.

Hello Medium readers!

In this article I’ll talk about a scientific side hustle done in Pyhip.

After read a lot about side hustles and passive income, I wanted to try.

What to sell and where?

Lots of Medium writers about side hustles will tell you to create a side hustle with something you like as much as possible and be good doing it.

I’m scientist and I like a lot DNA sequences and its graphical representation, but I didn’t know what to create and where to sell it.

Although on Medium I found lots of writers and ideas, nothing was about science and less about DNA.

In this moment, with lots of ideas but nothing related to science, some questions where disturbing my mind and I was lost:

  • Why no one talk about scientific side hustle?
  • Scientific products are not salable?
  • Which scientific product I could sell?
  • Where I could sell scientific products?

I tried to not think about it, an focus on things I know I want:

  • I don’t want to spend money.
  • I want to have passive income.

At the end, I reach the conclusion that if I never try I’ll never know.

If I never try I’ll never know.

What I did?

So I adapted the steps to follow, from other Medium writers as Paul Rose, to my purpose.

Niche search

First I asked to AI on ChatGPT for the best niches to sell digital products to the scientific world:

ChatGPT answer fro scientific niches.

I took the niches number 3 and 5:

  • Scientific Illustrations and Artwork.
  • Data Science and Analytics Tools since I have knowledge in data science programming and web development tools.

Why that ones?

First because I like scientific illustrations and I like programing, and second because they fit with the first thing I want: I don’t want to spend money.

Where to sell?

I wanted places specifically for scientific products and the option to be paid through PayPal.

I asked to ChatGPT, and told me a large list of sites, here there are some:

ChatGPT answer.

After checking the sites I decided for Gumroad and Pyhip.

Pyhip & Gumroad

In my opinion Pyhip has higher elegance for the products store and also allows more features to create the store as you prefer than Gumroad, but only allows payments through Paypal.

What I also prefer form Pyhip is the ‘Analytics’ field, which includes more features than Gumroad, as can be the ‘Visits Map’. Gumroad has the ‘Locations’ field, but in my opinion a map looks nicer:

P4k’s Pyhip store visits map.

Products

As I said before, my niches will be the next:

  • Scientific Illustrations and Artwork.
  • Data Science and Analytics Tool

With the combination of some different tools, I have created some different type of mockups and artwork to sell in Pyhip and Gumroad :

AI image generation tools.

I have to say that, when it comes to DNA sequences image creation, RunwayML is better.

Prototype and mockup tools.

  • Canva.
  • MockupBro
  • Looka

Combining this little amount of tools, I have created some different scientific products:

  • Creative DNA and scientific molecules images with high quality.
  • Hardcover book and poster mockups themed with DNA sequences and scientific molecules.
  • Scientific canva presentation templates.
  • Django web application tools for different purposes (only on Gumroad):
Django tools of p4k’s Gumroad store.

Poster Mockup example:

For research buildings, laboratories or companies.

DNA sequence poster mockup from P4k’s Pyhip store.

Hardcover book mockup example:

For doctoral thesis, research lab-book or notebook.

Scientific molecules hardcover book mockup from P4k’s Pyhip store.

Conclusion

At the moment, after two weeks with my Gumroad store, and with three days in Pyhip, my Gumroad store had no visits at the moment, and my Pythip had 10.

Summary:

  • Gumroad (2 weeks) -> 0 visits.
  • Pyhip (3 days) -> 10visits.

Taking into account the days of each one, the difference is big.

Note that my Gumroad products are not listed in Gumroad Discovery until I make 10$ in sales. That means that if I don’t promote Gumroad store until I make 10$ in sales I’ll never do a cent.

So, after the first steps, it seems my Pyhip store has a more hopeful future than the one in Gumroad. Let’s see what happens.

P4k’s Pyhip store visits from P4k’s Pyhip store.

I’ll keep informing you how it develops.

Up to here this article!

Thanks for reading me!

Remember to clap the article if you like it!

--

--

P4k D3velopers

Writes about Python Web Development (Django/Flask) and Data Science (Python/pandas/statistics/) || Scientist || Prototype creator || Side hustles