My Journey at Google Code-in 2019 — Part 2

paraxor
4 min readFeb 3, 2020

--

Thank you Fedora Project for this opportunity.

See you soon! :)

Checkout the Part-1 of my Journey over here!

Subete katsu ni boku wa, Subete tadashi.

Bonding.

Please take note that this isn’t a blog to flaunt that I’ve achieved “X” in the Google Code-In. If you’ve read my previous story/blog, you’ll understand why this exists.

This one is dedicated to Siddharth Vipul. To be honest, we’ve had some really amazing nights discussing random stuff ranging from meaning less debates to agreeing over some amazing anime. I don’t have a lot of friends who watch anime on a continual basis, this felt like a jackpot to me.

Seriously such an amazing person to chat with. I couldn’t have achieved “X” without Vipul supporting me the whole time to focus on quality instead of quantity.

An endless stream of anime discussions, out of nowhere subreddit talks, loads of memes and the never ending Harry Potter audio book recommendations.

I’ve got so much to say but gotta stick to SFW. You have succeeded in encouraging me to switch to Fedora.

This bonding is something I’ll cherish forever. And loads more to come! :)

180k Lines of Code later.

Sorry XD

I’ve lied about my task count in the previous blog for a ~week (more for some), just wanted to play a little game with my fellow mates in the Fedora Project. Time flew super fast during the last week, wasn’t taking note of how many tasks I’ve done till the penultimate day. Anyways, 76 isn’t a bad count (although it doesn’t matter).

The code is always available at p4r4xor.

Outcome.

February 1st was a really long day. Pulled off 20 hours straight expecting an email regarding the winners/finalists. Disappointed a lot and got back to work from February 2nd. And then, this happens.

Had a long discussion with Anmol Jhamb that day, ensuring that we get to feel what we’ve aimed for if we actually were winners or finalists.

:( Did we already know the outcome Vipul? XD

I’ve got a McChicken in one hand and Pepsi in the other. Gotta watch anime as usual while having food (a very bad habit of mine :p). As far as I know, I was watching the last episode of ‘kakegurui’.

It’s a gamble after-all.

And then I’ve received it. The mail. You guys didn’t let me chew my lunch after-all. Choked the next 2 minutes and wrote my first message to Vipul regarding the same.

So yeah. I did win. I hereby proudly declare that I’m the first UAE student to win the Google Code-In :D

The next thing I do is to wake up this dude XD

Try decoding the times lmao

And hence, My Google Code-in journey has come to a happy end! Looking forward to meet you soon Anmol!

Well done fellow participants!

A detailed blog by Google announcing the winners, runner-ups and the finalists: https://opensource.googleblog.com/2020/02/announcing-our-google-code-in-2019.html

What next?

I’ll be taking up the internship offer from offered by Purusharth Saxena during the Google Code-In soon! You can find it in detail over here.

I’ll start contributing to the Fedora Project whenever I have time. It’s been rough on deciding on what my interests connect with. Hopefully will sort it out asap :)

I’ve got 3 mini projects under-work which I hopefully complete them in the upcoming months :D

  • Neural Network using Gradient Descent Approach
  • Decaf compiler with Clang Codegen
  • Movie Recognition using Perspective Hashing

And yes, think this as a subtle-brag XD

I came; I saw; I conquered

Until then, Ciao!

--

--