Midnight-Gen Z style-Online Prayer Movements: Blessing or Blindfold for West Africa?

Some tough Questions worth thinking about

Paa Kwesi
4 min readJul 28, 2024
Photo by Janay Peters on Unsplash

From my older posts (also linked here) and this one, you may be able to tell that I have been thinking a lot about the rise of what I perceive to be “neo-evangelicalistic-revival-driven online midnight prayer movements and fellowships” in West Africa, particularly Ghana and Nigeria.

There is so much to discuss about these movements, yet I am most interested in the social ideas, theologies, and subtle belief systems these movements invent about God, suffering, and personal success. These three, for me, are important because they drive everything about the average West African seeking God.

Below are some critical questions I wish to pose to them first but also to everyone who cares deeply about the continent.

I should say that these questions are “critical” in the sense that they are meant to push us forward and nothing else. To be very transparent, I am not saying these movements aren’t contributing anything good to the continent and, thus, should not exist. No!

Rather, I am asking how more they can be and do what they are already doing even better.

If it helps, here is perhaps my biggest motivation:

Historically, the forces that stole from us as a people and kept us poor in every way have consistently instigated among us individualism, stripped off confidence in our own identity, and infiltrated our preference for magical thinking over value for process, work, and principles.

Unfortunately, the version of the practice of Christianity that our people are embracing partly through such movements, in my observation, seems to be replicating these same forces to a greater degree, and I think it is time to call these practices out and redefine the version of Christianity our continent needs right now in 2024 and beyond.

Questions?

It’s time to think closely again about our understanding of what economic success means, where it comes from, and the relationships we set between it and the practice of Christianity (also, religion broadly).

Do we really think economic suffering is and can be alleviated by the sole means of a miracle or a supernatural encounter as these movements prescribe? If so, why has it not?

This question will annoy you depending on your beliefs about miracles. And I am sure you are ready to throw Bible passages at me. I promise you, I know all those passages too. Give me a chance here, and please read on.

I acknowledge the relevance of supernatural interventions to life issues. I share many in my own life, believe me. But that’s not the point.

What I am getting at by questioning where we think economic success comes from and how we might tackle it is, in other words, to also ask that, as Christian institutions,

What value do we place on promoting practical strategies, such as a robust-decolonized education, innovative entrepreneurship, policy advocacy, etc. in addressing these issues?

Those are our collective responsibility as a people. I will make you even more uncomfortable by asking:

How long will it take us to realize that systemic suffering does not simply disappear because we spoke hours of unintelligible words with our eyes and ears closed?

That's harsh, I know, but I encourage you to listen to what I am NOT saying as much as you listen to what I am saying.

I am concerned because our young ones are not making money (literally, but I mean more figuratively, not doing well) and will likely not make any because they are conditioned to think more about spirits than about innovation, economic systems, and the overall conditions that drive the exchange of value for currency.

Since I referenced our histories as a people, which we sadly do not take as seriously, may I pose my last question along those lines?

Especially in a context where the legacies of colonialism persist, avoidable suffering abounds, and political systems have not proven trustworthy,

Might we not consider the power of systems thinking and a robust faith that pursues beyond personal piety, social prophecy, collective justice, and communal flourishing even more carefully today?

Similarly, in what ways can we foster a form of Christianity that emphasizes community empowerment and resilience rather than individualistic success narratives?

Again, in raising these questions, I intend not to provoke controversy or backlash. Although some of that is needed sometimes.

Of course, I can not prevent controversy from some of my readers who will misread or refuse to understand this post or call me names (because there will always be people like that).

My goal instead is to encourage thoughtful and open dialogue even in the midst of the discomfort that comes when our core convictions are questioned.

So, like me, if you care about a more holistic and compassionate approach to faith and life, again, one rooted in truth-telling, justice, and communal flourishing, then let’s keep the conversations going.

Thanks

This is my public journal if you’d like– I have a ton of personal development stuff here but often the heavy stuff are about Christianity at the intersection of social systems, and Contemporary African society.

Im PhDing at Yale Uni.

--

--

Paa Kwesi

My public journal if you'd like–often about books, people and social systems.