A nomad thought — City lights!

Paritosh Louhan
2 min readApr 29, 2018

--

How much money is required to be happy?

I stopped the metro at platform and opened the doors. It was 2350 hours. Nobody hoped in. The platform was empty. Constantly looking at the rear mirror, I wish I was not doing this job right now. From school days to office hours, I always wanted to earn big. Despite knowing that we cannot enable the work life balance, relationship and salary altogether. One of them will get disabled if we are running behind all three. Today is 31st December. New year will start in 10 minutes and I’ll see the firecrackers bustling into the clouds. I remember, how my dad used to make me understand that I need to study hard to get a successful job. This government job, so successful, that is keeping us apart, forever! I took the metro to next station and didn’t let this thought go away. The next station would come in two minutes. And I let dance these nomad thoughts in front of me at each platform.

2352 hours: What was the use of lakhs of money spent on my education if I couldn’t be with my family?

2354 hours: What will be dad doing tonight? He must be sleeping or drinking with friends. He must be missing mom as she used to make different cuisines on festivals. Shall I call him?

2356 hours: I picked up the phone and typed message, Happy ne.. There is a CCTV camera right on my head and we are informed not to use phone while driving. I left the phone. I need to buy a home for dad. I don’t want to lose a successful job.

2358 hours: The city lights are always fascinating. They blind the poor and distort the relationships. I don’t want to drive this shit anymore. I don’t want this hefty salary. I just want the company of my dad and long conversations with him.

0000 midnight: I can hear people shouting in celebration. Fireworks in the sky, like everyone is so happy. Suddenly, my phone rang, and I looked at it. It was Dad. I couldn’t pick. CCTV cameras. Successful job!

0002 hours : This moment can wait. I’ll wish him after reaching home or tomorrow morning. Happy new year, to you too dad, I repeated in mind and moved my train to next station.

--

--

Paritosh Louhan

What if you wake up one day and find the world around you, fictional?