There are 3 types of people

Pabloomvc
2 min readOct 17, 2022

--

Recently while browsing through old notes, I came across something that I wrote during my graduation ceremony a couple of years ago, which I think is as relevant now as it was back then.

During my ceremony (I graduated from Industrial Engineering back in 2020), something was said during the main speech, which really resonated with me.

Now, I’m not one to cling to every piece of “motivational wisdom” that I come across. I’m more of a practicality and mindset type of guy. But every once in a while I come across ideas that just make sense. And when that happens, I put them on the internet so hopefully, other people can too benefit from them.

It goes something like this:

Some people are victims. They are victims of the circumstances. They complain about why life is so unfair. They have the perfect excuse as to why they weren’t able to achieve what they wanted.

Some people are spectators. They watch things happen. They are reactive to the circumstances. They go with the flow.

Some people are protagonists. They make things happen. They don’t give excuses. They do things and take action.

The speech then goes on about how we must choose who we want to be. And that made sense, the fact that we must decide who we want to become, that in large measure, it’s a conscious decision.

Of course, there are nuances. As much as we decide to be one type of person, it does not mean we won’t deviate from that decision from time to time. As much as we’d like to be the protagonist of our lives, there’ll be times when we feel like victims like the world is being unfair. And that’s okay.

My takeaway from the speech is, we should consciously pick the direction we want to move towards, and not worry if we fail, or if the path is not clear all the time.

Pick the direction you want to go, decide what kind of person you want to be, and just keep moving.

That’s it for today! If you have any thoughts or ideas you’d like to share, feel absolutely free to reach out! Just send me a message on LinkedIn, or find me on Twitter! (you can also follow me on YouTube, where I talk about technology, productivity, and digital businesses🙌). I look forward to connecting. See you soon!

Pablo

--

--